Nobel Peace Prize 2023 Is Not about Nobel’s Will


Jan Oberg, Ph.D. | The Transnational – TRANSCEND Media Service

6 Oct 2023 – Iranian women’s rights campaigner, Narges Mohammadi, deserves all the human rights prizes in the world.

However, this is what the Nobel PEACE Prize shall reward:

“… the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations and the abolition or reduction of standing armies and the formation and spreading of peace congresses.”

This year’s award reflects none of it. With war and rampant political militarism raging in Europe and Cold War against China, the Committee c/would not find someone who works for Nobel’s honourable will.

Instead, it again violates that will grossly. One must wonder how far the Committee can continue to deviate from its legal mandate without being investigated.

And again, NATO Norway’s Prize is totally aligned with US/NATO interests; implicitly, it endorses Washington’s harassment of Iran since its regime change in 1953 and its permanent human rights violations by suffocating primary and secondary sanctions.


Prof. Jan Oberg, Ph.D. is director of the independent Transnational Foundation for Peace & Future Research-TFF in Sweden and a member of the TRANSCEND Network for Peace Development Environment. CV:

Tags: ,


This article originally appeared on Transcend Media Service (TMS) on 9 Oct 2023.

Anticopyright: Editorials and articles originated on TMS may be freely reprinted, disseminated, translated and used as background material, provided an acknowledgement and link to the source, TMS: Nobel Peace Prize 2023 Is Not about Nobel’s Will, is included. Thank you.

If you enjoyed this article, please donate to TMS to join the growing list of TMS Supporters.

Share this article:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 License.

One Response to “Nobel Peace Prize 2023 Is Not about Nobel’s Will”

  1. rosemerry says:

    Thanks Jan. This is such a common gesture and the Nobel Prize for Peace is now meaningless. Remember when the EU was awarded it ???? It is so sad. I remember the year that Obama was awarded this prize and one of the contenders was Kathy Kelly, an absolute marvel as an activist, who spend a year before the US invasion of Iraq visiting Iraq and helping people there. Later she set up workshops for women in Afghanistan and also helped youth groups. She was imprisoned in the USA for these deeds but continues her work, completely ignored by those seeking “prizewinners” like Obama or most of others selected.

Join the discussion!

We welcome debate and dissent, but personal — ad hominem — attacks (on authors, other users or any individual), abuse and defamatory language will not be tolerated. Nor will we tolerate attempts to deliberately disrupt discussions. We aim to maintain an inviting space to focus on intelligent interactions and debates.

12 + = 19

Note: we try to save your comment in your browser when there are technical problems. Still, for long comments we recommend that you copy them somewhere else as a backup before you submit them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.